top of page

The Two Lives Of Lydia Bird - Josie Silver

Blog Tour stop for this wonderful, emotional, timeless, and yet heartbreaking story of moving forward




"What if you could live you great love story again?"

Synopsis


Lydia and Freddie. Freddie and Lydia. They've been together for almost a decade, and Lydia thinks their love is indestructible.


But she's wrong. Because on her 27th birthday, Freddie dies in a tragic accident.


So now it's just Lydia, and all she wants to do is hide indoors and sob 'til her eyes fall out.


But Lydia knows that Freddie would want her to live her life well. So, enlisting the help of his best friend and her sister Elle, she takes her first tentative steps into the world and starts to live - perhaps even to love - again.


Then something unbelievable happens, and Lydia gets another chance at her old life with Freddie.


But what if there's someone in her new life who wants her to stay?


A heart-breaking, uplifting story for fans of PS I Love You and Me Before You, this gorgeously romantic novel will make you laugh, cry and remind you of what a wonderful gift it is to love and to be loved.





My Review


Oh my goodness!, Wow! just WOW


I'm writing this after just finishing this book as I wanted to still be in the folds of this world and review this in a poignant way.


Instead I am a blubbering mess, I have no tissues in the house, so here I sit crying, snotty and pulling tissue from a spare loo roll, and am not even bothered!


I defy you not to have a similar experience after reading this beautiful story, you just might do it in a more classy way with with proper Kleenex!


I absolutely loved the authors previous book "one day in December" so I could not wait to get started on this and its was better than I could have ever imagined!


We join our main character Lydia Bird after the absolute unimaginable has happened the love of her life for over a decade has died in a tragic accident, in this story we join Lydia in the months following his death and see as she tries to move forward but what if she did not have too? or could do both?


Told in a fresh and unique way we journey with Lydia as the lives and learns through her grief and anger in one world while in another she lives with Freddie and sees were her life goes in another.


As a spoiler free blog I am unable to say more, but the story and the way it develops is such a amazingly candid look at the stages of grief, I finished many chapters with tears rolling down my face, I know grief myself and I know many who have lost loved ones but the story haunted me in the way I thought deeply how I would react to loss of the love of my life, queue more crying and tissues (this is the reason i ran out!!) So beautifully written, this book and the author seemed in my mind to take its inspiration from the best parts of story's like sliding doors and PS I Love You, but made it all her own in a much better way than this has ever been done before.


This is the most wonderful, emotional, timeless, and yet heartbreaking story of moving forward I feel you will read in 2020, do not miss out, I fell in love with all these characters and my only down point is I was left just wanting even more from them! I just wanted to stay in the story bubble for longer, no matter the cost in tears and Kleenex!



Author Bio


Josie Silver is a writer of love stories. Her debut novel One Day in December was a Sunday Times & NY Times bestseller and has been translated into more than twenty-five languages. Josie lives in the midlands with her husband, their sons, and an ever changing cast of animals.



Purchase Links




Blog Tour




Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page