top of page

A Spooky Tale - Sue Wickstead

Blog Tour stop for this spooky, thrilling and magical adventure for young readers

#BlogTour #ASpookyTale @rararesources @JayJayBus






"A walk with our teacher, What could possibly go wrong?....

"

Synopsis

A Spooky Tale - A walk with our teacher.


When the teacher decided to take the class out on a walk the children did not want to go ...


But... What could possibly go wrong? why did the class not feel well? Read the book to find out.





My Review


Sue Wickstead's books have become a staple in our household, we have been lucky enough to be involve in a few fantastic Blog Tours for the authors magical bus tales and my youngest son fell in love with the easy read, yet adventure filled stories.


So of course he was thrilled to be taking part in this tour, and I am happy to say that this book A spooky Tale has become his favourite!


A simple walk with a teacher and her class is turned in to a magical and thrilling adventure!


Bears, Dragons, Ghosts and Alien's this story is jam packed and the illustrations and bright bold and full of movement!


We really enjoyed reading this story together and the chats it has sparked! my son likes magical and fantasy characters and this book has it all! All the authors books are loved in our house but this one is the firm favourite!


Here is my youngest "Mini Twist's own review...


I really liked this story, The book is green on the front which is my best colour, The children go for a walk and every place they go they get scared by things and animals!


My favourites were the dragon, he was red and big and breathed fire! and then the aliens they are flying in a spaceship and shooting lasers with guns!


I liked that the teacher was the most scared at the end that was funny. and i liked the map in the book, i would like to make a map of my park and what scary things I see, Thank you to the story writer for letting me read and keep this book, i am taking it to school for show and tell.




Author Bio



I am an author and a teacher and have written six children’s picture books, all with a bus included somewhere.


Having been able to share my first book, 'Jay-Jay the Supersonic Bus', it was time to think about writing a book for younger readers.


While visiting a local school the children were writing stories about a journey, we read Jay-Jay’s book and then I remembered a book that I had written some years before and I read this to the class too, and they loved it.


The original story was based on a walk with my class around the neighbourhood of Bewbush, Crawley. The walk had led to map work and sequencing. Then together with the class I wrote an imaginative adventure.


The events we imagined were put into a class book. The book was shared with many classes and it was always a favourite.

Now years later I decided it was time to update, improve and look at publishing the book.


There is indeed a walk around the district of Bewbush. and following the publication of the book I went back to see if and how the neighbourhood had changed.


‘Oh, I see you have written a book without a bus!’ commented a friend.


But, look through the pages and you will see there always has to be a bus!


The neighbourhood of Bewbush was a new estate built in Crawley town in the 1970's. The area was built without any shops, school or safe places for children to play. It was an area of high need and was supported by a special playbus which offered a much-needed playgroup venue.


I also undertake events and author bookings and love to share my stories. There are also a few more stories in the writing process, with links to real events and buses.




Purchase Links





Social media links


Facebook: - Author Page https://www.facebook.com/storiesSue/



Giveaway



Giveaway to Win 1 x Paperback copy of Daisy Daydreams bus rhymes and joke book (UK Only)


*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.






Blog Tour










Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

16 views1 comment
bottom of page