Before I Say I Do - Vicki Bradley

Blog Tour stop for this absolutley outstanding debut novel with a killer twist

#BlogTour #BeforeISayIDo @vbradleywriter @simonschusterUK @annecater #RandomThingsTours





"TO HAVE. TO HOLD. TO HURT "

Synopsis


Her dream wedding is about to become her worst nightmare


Julia is nervous and it’s not just because she’s about to get married. There’s a lot that her soonto-be husband, Mark, doesn’t know – and she is determined to keep it that way.


As she walks down the aisle, spotting Mark is his tailored suit, she knows she is taking her first steps to happiness- her past can’t catch her now.


He turns to face her… But it isn’t Mark in the beautiful suit – it’s his best man.


Because Mark is missing. And Julia’s past is closer than she thinks.


Winner of the inaugural Write here, Right Now Prize 2018, in partnership with the Bradford Literature Festival, a debut by experienced Met Police detective constable


Perfect for fans of Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

and Now You See Her by Heidi Perks





My Review


This is an absolutley outstanding debut novel by Vicki Bradley.


I was drawn to this read not only by the blurb but equally by the fact the the author herself is a detective constable, though she is currently on a carrer break to focus on her writing.


I have to say that my inital thoughts that her background would bring added realism to the story was correct and the whole read has a real life edge that some time feels lacking in other police procedurals.


On your wedding the one day that most couples put there hearts and souls into you feel nothing can or will go wrong, for Julia Talbot she almost floats through the morning knowing her dream is about to become reality.


But just as she walks up the aisle a nightmare begains as Julias husband-to-be is not stood at the end, he is missing, could this be cold feet, where has he gone?, or could everything that Julia has done and hidden be about to unravel?


This read is told from 2 view points Julia'sthe bride and missing Mark's fiancee and Alanna Loxton the police officer assigned to the case, firstly can a say what cracking strong characters these to women are I perticulary enjoy a strong female lead so to have 2 in fabulous!


This is a read soaked in tension as the secrets unreavel we get hints at past and the story intertwines with the muder of a young girl in the past, and as the author pulls us in one direction just to flip the story to lead us down another path. We hurtle through the read knowing that both Julia and Alanna are desperate to uncover the truth of what has happend to Mark whatever the cost.


As the past and present collide the stunning twist in the read is played out and I for one was left opened mouthed in shock! I guarantee this is a read that just when you think you have worked it all out, it then knocks you sideways in the next chapter.


This is a stunning debut, a fantasic police procedureal with a killer twist, everything fans are looking for in this genre.


I for one hope for more from this author and more stories from the work of Alanna Loxton I really feel she is such a stand out character and if this novel is anything to go by this and future cases could become standout series in the genre.




Author Bio



Vicki Bradley is a detective constable in the Metropolitan Police Service. She has had a varied career, as a uniformed response driver in Brent and then as a detective Constable in Southwark CID.


She has managed High Risk Sex Offenders and worked on the Serious Organised Crime Command. She is currently on a 5-year career break to focus on her writing.


Vicki completed a Creative Writing MA at City University in 2016. Before I Say I Do won the Write Here, Right Now competition, came 3rd in the First Novel Prize and has been shortlisted for the Virago New Crime Writer 2017 and Peters Fraser and Dunlop Prize 2016.


She enjoys travelling the world and climbing mountains. Vicki lives in London with her husband.



Purchase Links





Blog Tour




Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All