top of page

BURY THEM DEEP - James Oswald

Blog Tour stop for the tenth book in the Sunday Times-bestselling Inspector McLean series





"The tenth book in the Sunday Times-bestselling Inspector McLean series "

Synopsis


When a member of the Police Scotland team fails to clock-in for work, concern for her whereabouts is immediate...


and the discovery of her burnt-out car in remote woodland to the south of Edinburgh sets off a desperate search for the missing woman.


Meanwhile, DCI Tony McLean and the team are preparing for a major anti-corruption operation - one which may raise the ire of more than a few powerful people in the city.


Is Anya Reynolds' disappearance a co-incidence or related to the case?


McLean's investigations suggest that perhaps that Anya isn't the first woman to have mysteriously vanished in these ancient hills.


Once again, McLean can't shake the feeling that there is a far greater evil at work here...


The truth far more chilling than a simple cold case...


PRAISE FOR JAMES


‘The new Ian Rankin’ Daily Record

‘Oswald’s writing is a class above’ Daily Express

‘Crime fiction’s next big thing’ Sunday Telegraph

‘Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers’ Daily Mail

‘A superior crime series’ Crime Squad




My Review


Its no secret that I’m a huge fan of this author's work, and this wonderful series and I am honoured to be closing out what has been a fantastic Blog Tour.


see my other reviews for previous titles in the series here :-


Here we are Ten books in with these wonderful gritty characters and once again we are thrilled and enthralled with a magnificent story.

We join the newly promoted DCI McLean and his team are diving in to one case when suddenly they are side tracked in to investigating the disappearance of a women called Anya who is a member of the police administration team.


Knowing she is Conscientious and reliable concern grows for Anya when her car is found abanodond and burnt out, then after a search of her home they discover the shy, quiet Anya may not be all she seems.


This investigation is tangled with other stories of women disappearing in the area, what is the cause who or what is doing this?


DCI McLean is also facing challenges in his own personal life, and has to face up to some heartbreaking emotions himself. Can DCI McLean find a way to solve everything?


With a complex story that gets creeper and creeper by the minute, as with the books in this series the story has this delicious supernatural element that makes them all so unique.


I flew through this book at speed, As the intrigue and intense feeling of foreboding grew as we hurtled toward the explosive and tension filled ending. I was almost putting off reading the next chapter as I was enjoying it so much I did not want the story to end! .


Gruesome in parts, dark, chilling and utterly spectacular, another wonderful addition to this series.


I loved every chapter and page as always and I cannot wait to have "Inspector McLean Book 11" in my hands!


Author Bio



JAMES OSWALD is the author of the Sunday Times bestselling Inspector McLean series of detective mysteries, as well as the new DC Constance Fairchild series.


James's first two books, NATURAL CAUSES and THE BOOK OF SOULS, were both short-listed for the prestigious CWA Debut Dagger Award.


BURY THEM DEEP is the tenth book in the Inspector Mclean Series.


James farms Highland cows and Romney sheep by day, writes disturbing fiction by night.


In celebration of BURY THEM DEEP being the tenth book in the McLean series here’s James ten quickfire questions with James:


Favourite Inspector McLean book to write

The next one, I’m sure. I hope.


Favourite crime book you’ve read

Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett, and I’ll fight anyone who says it’s not crime fiction.


Favourite Inspector McLean character to write

It’s a toss up between Grumpy Bob and Madame Rose, but Rose seems to be the fan favourite.


Favourite part of the writing process

Typing ‘The End’. I think it’s Dorothy Parker who said ‘I hate writing, I love having written’. I reckon that’s spot on.


Favourite way to take a break from writing

I had no idea such a thing was possible.


Favourite cow

I try to discourage favouritism in my fold, but probably Gertrude.


Favourite audiobook

The Rivers of London books, written by Ben Aaronovitch and narrated by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith. Probably. Ask me again and I’ll come up with something different.


Favourite recipe to cook

Chilli con carne, heavy on the chilli.


Favourite movie

I don’t think I have one. I’m not the sort of person who re-reads or re-watches much.


Favourite gig you’ve been to The last Frightened Rabbits gig I went to was brilliant. They were supported by Canadian indie rockers Wintersleep, who I’d never heard of before but have become a dedicated fan of ever since.




Purchase Links




Blog Tour










Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page