top of page

CONTAINMENT - Vanda Symon

Blog Tour stop for the 3rd in this fresh, unique and compelling series

#containment #YeahNoir @vandasymon @OrendaBooks @annecater #RandomThingsTours





"Dunedin’s favourite young police officer Sam Shephard is drawn into a perplexing investigation when a series of shipping containers wash up on a sleepy New Zealand beach, and a spate of unexplained deaths ensues… "


Synopsis


Chaos reigns in the sleepy village of Aramoana on the New Zealand coast, when a series of shipping containers wash up on the beach and looting begins.


Detective Constable Sam Shephard experiences the desperation of the scavengers first-hand, and ends up in an ambulance, nursing her wounds and puzzling over an assault that left her assailant for dead.


What appears to be a clear-cut case of a cargo ship running aground soon takes a more sinister turn when a skull is found in the sand, and the body of a diver is pulled from the sea … a diver who didn’t die of drowning…


As first officer at the scene, Sam is handed the case, much to the displeasure of her superiors, and she must put together an increasingly confusing series of clues to get to the bottom of a mystery that may still have more victims…





My Review


today I am on the Blog Tour for CONTAINMENT the third book in the Sam Shephard series.


Now many of my readers know that i prefer to read books in order but times adn the crazy world we are in right now meant I had to start with this book and I had absolutley no problems with it at all! it suited been a stand alone read.


But as i knew it would I loved it so much that I am now reading the other 2! (Overkill and The Ringmaster) one of the nice things of the country been on Lockdown is that I have the time to read even more! (between homeschooling 3 boys!)


We are in New Zeland in a small town called Aramoana on the coast, when the town itself is thrown in to chaos.


A cargo ship has run aground on the shore and shipping containers are strewn all over the beach, the people of the town and the close area are all over the scene looting the containers and causing utter mayhem they are out of control.


The police arrive at the scene and we meet DC Sam Shephard who arrives to try and break up the scuffles only to then be assaulted by one of the looters, not a great start to the day!


Nursing a rough concussion for Sam the madness only becomes more unbelevale when a skull is found and as the investigation begains a divers body is pulled from the sea. missadventure? drowning? accident? are there more victims? so many questions.


But when they discover the diver did not drown?, that he was forced into the wetsuit, the case turns and Sam heads the investigation, determined to find the mans identity and discover the truth of his death.


I loved the case this read was based around lots of twists but the stand out for me was the character of Sam Shephard, she is strong, fun, feisty and not afraid to say and fight for what it right, she made me laugh and I loved the insights into her life I found her completely relatable and I enjoyed the kindness and passion that her character shows.


I cannot really say more about the plot as I aim to be a spoiler free blog but this was just the refreshing crime read that I needed it all felt very fresh and unique .


If you haven’t already started this series I really recommend starting from the beginning, I wish I had and I'm half way through "The Ringmaster" now, spolier! both the other books in the series are brilliant too!


This read kept me hooked from the start to the very last page if your looking for a new series or a crime read that that just feels more fresh and compelling then look no further!




Author Bio


Vanda Symon is a crime writer, TV presenter and radio host from Dunedin, New Zealand, and the chair of the Otago Southland branch of the New Zealand Society of Authors.


The Sam Shephard series has climbed to number one on the New Zealand bestseller list, and also been shortlisted for the Ngaio Marsh Award for best crime novel.


She currently lives in Dunedin, with her husband and two sons.




Purchase Links





Blog Tour










Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page