top of page

Doing Time - Jodi Taylor

Blog Tour stop for this Thrilling, hilarious and clever tale!

#DoingTime @JodiTaylorBooks @annecater #RandomThingsTours





" Introducing The Time Police, the brand-new series by international bestselling author, Jodi Taylor "

Synopsis


A long time ago in the future, the secret of time travel became known to all.


Everyone seized the opportunity - and the world nearly ended. There will always be idiots who want to change history.


And so, the Time Police were formed.


An all-powerful, international organisation tasked with keeping the timeline straight. At all costs. Their success is legendary, and the Time Wars are over.


But now the Time Police must fight to save a very different future - their own.


This is the story of Jane, Luke and Matthew - arguably the worst recruits in Time Police history.


Or, very possibly, three young people who might just change everything.





My Review


I was absolutely intrigued by this blurb when the chance to be a part of this Blog Tour came about.


This book I discovered is a spin-off to Jodi Taylor's Chronicles of St Mary's series.


I have to say I haven't read any of the series so if you are in the same boat as me be reassured that apart from a few mentions and snippets, I honesty don't think you need to have read the other series, but after enjoying this book and the writing style so much that I cannot wait to read the formative series and I sense it will be a real treat!


The Time police, responsible for keeping the timeline in order, we join Matthew, Jane, and Luke, new trainees in the Time Police and not always the best for the job! but so well written that the characters and the events they endure are utterly believable.


This book had me in absolute hysterics! it was honesty laugh out load funny in parts and brilliant mix of Si-Fi, time travel and absolute britishness!


The author takes you on a real chaotic journey with this mad capped bunch through different times and events in history.


There are dark elements around with a murder mystery and events around abuse and bullying but they are well handled and add to this story without been too much or over done.


I for one loved every bit of this funny and fast paced read! so much so that I have given this book to my teenage son (one of my Mini Twist boys who review children's/Teen and YA works on this site) he is an avid and very advanced reader and I think will get a real kick out of the story line, the time travel and the humour in this tale, he is always looking for that "different" read and I cannot wait for him to share his views here too!


Roll on more for this series I cannot wait and I am more excited that i have the obvious joys of the authors previous works to enjoy in the mean time!





Author Bio



Jodi Taylor is the internationally bestselling author of the Chronicles of St Mary's series, the story of a bunch of disaster-prone individuals who investigate major historical events in contemporary time.


Do NOT call it time travel!


Born in Bristol and now living in Gloucester (facts both cities vigorously deny), she spent many years with her head somewhere else, much to the dismay of family, teachers and employers, before finally deciding to put all that daydreaming to good use and write a novel.


Nearly twenty books later, she still has no idea what she wants to do when she grows up.




Purchase Links






Social media links

Twitter - @JodiTaylorBooks

Facebook - JodiTaylorBooks

Website - jodi-taylor.com


Blog Tour






Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

9 views0 comments
bottom of page