top of page

Free Lunch - Rex Ogle

Blog Tour stop for this heartbreaking and humbling true story that everyone should be reading

#BlogTour #FreeLunch @RexOgle @wwnortonUK @annecater #RandomThingsTours





"Rex had no idea that there were also other children, let alone millions of others, in such need... "

Synopsis


Free Lunch is the story of Rex Ogle’s first semester in sixth grade.


Rex and his baby brother often went hungry, wore secondhand clothes, and were short of school supplies, and Rex was on his school’s free lunch program.


Grounded in the immediacy of physical hunger and the humiliation of having to announce it every day in the school lunch line, Rex’s is a compelling story of a more profound hunger―that of a child for his parents’ love and care.


Compulsively readable, beautifully crafted, and authentically told with the voice and point of view of a 6th-grade kid, Free Lunch is a remarkable debut by a gifted storyteller.



 

In FREE LUNCH (Norton Young Readers; on-sale 9/10/19), debut author Rex Ogle vividly conveys the immediacy of physical hunger and the humiliation of revealing it every day in the school lunch line, along with a more profound hunger: that of a child for love and care from his parent. This story rings so true in its portrayal of poverty and the familial strains that can result from living in the economic margins, because it is. This is Rex’s story.


But this is not Rex’s story alone; 43.1 million people are living in a state of poverty, 14.5 million of them are under the age of 18. But when he was embarking on his sixth-grade year in Texas,

“The worst part of living like this is thinking as I did—that I was alone, that I was shameful, and that I had less worth because of the situation into which I was born,” explained Rex. “But that couldn’t be further from the truth. No child should feel alone. Or ashamed. Or worthless. They need to know that their circumstances are not their fault.”


This moving memoir covers Rex’s journey through his first semester of middle-school as he navigates the inherent physical and emotional growth pains that come with this phase of life, along with the societal pressures he feels showing up at school in worn clothes that don’t fit properly and with the occasional black eye he receives from speaking his mind at home —all in addition to requesting free lunch. Rex is now an adult who traversed middle school and found his way out of poverty, but the struggles of his youth have shaped who is as a man today, and how he views the world around him.


“One day, when I was riding on the subway in New York City, I saw a little girl tug on her mom’s sleeve and heard her say, ‘I’m hungry.’ Her mom hugged her, but didn’t say anything,” explained Rex when asked why he decided to write Free Lunch. “I didn’t know their situation, but it struck me that my story needed to be shared. I wanted other kids to know that it’s okay to be hungry. That they are not alone. And there is hope.”



PRAISE FOR FREE LUNCH:

“With candor and vivid detail, Ogle captures the experience of chronic poverty in the United States. …Ogle doesn’t shy away from the circumstances (he and his toddler stepbrother are sometimes left alone for days at a time), but there is no shortage of humor, human kindness, and kid hijinks.


Though the story is an intense middle grade read, Ogle’s emotional honesty pays off in the form of complex characterization and a bold, compassionate thesis: “Maybe being poor broke her.... and she can’t get well as long as this is her life.” The book ends on a hopeful if precarious note that underscores the importance of dismantling the shame surrounding poverty. In a country where 43% of children live in low-income families, Ogle’s memoir is all too relatable.” –Publishers Weekly, starred review


“[Ogle’s] painful home life proffers little sanctuary thanks to his mom, who swings from occasional caregiver to violent tyrant at the slightest provocation, and his white stepdad, an abusive racist whose aggression outrivals that of Rex’s mom. Balancing the persistent flashes of brutality, Ogle magnificently includes sprouts of hope, whether it’s the beginnings of a friendship with a “weird” schoolmate, joyful moments with his younger brother, or lessons of perseverance from Abuela.


These slivers of relative levity counteract the toxic relationship between young Rex, a boy prone to heated outbursts and suppressed feelings, and his mother, a fully three-dimensional character who’s viciously thrashing against the burden of poverty. It’s a fine balance carried by the author’s outstanding, gracious writing and a clear eye for the penetrating truth. A mighty portrait of poverty amid cruelty and optimism.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred





My Review


This book it just heartbreaking and oh so humbling but even with all the emotion this read involves both myself and my son found this a fantastic story.


This is a true story of how Rex Ogle grew up in a low income family, and he spends a lot of his time caring for his family and trying to protect his younger brother from the violence and events taking place in the household.


When he starts the 6th grade his mother tells him he will be on the free lunch program but for Rex this is so awful, as at school Rex will have to tell the dinner lady each day he is a free lunch, the embarrassment Rex feels takes over and he tries to hide his lunch situation from his friends at school.


This means that each day he is going hungry as he hide his shame, coupled with the brutality he is faced with from his own mother, This book is heartbreaking, gritty and brutal, it made me think twice in letting my son read this book but by the end I felt this is a story that should be in every school for every age group as poverty is not a shameful thing the programs that allow free lunches or free school meals in the UK should be celebrated.


Due to the disabilities I have, I am medically retired and all 3 of my boys are entitled to free school meals, even though they don't use them due to been Coeliac ( they take packed lunch)


I found this book enabled fantastic conversations with my son about how I grew up in a very low income family, I was the first in my family to attend university, to teach him that no matter where you come from or how much money you have or don't this should never stop you reaching for your dreams.


My heart goes out to the author Rex Ogle for the childhood he suffered, but I feel he is making a huge impact in the lives of young children with this book.


I had over to my Son for his review below:-



Mini Twist Review


I thought this book was great but what Rex goes through is awful, I can not think of ever been treated like that by my mum or dad.


To go hungry all the time because of been embarrassed I understand, because bulling happens a lot, kids in my class make comments and even I do and you don't think how it can bother another person.


My mum says the only person who allow another to make you feel bad is you, and I think part of what happened to Rex shows that this is true, but its hard not to listen sometimes. and because Rex was been hurt by everyone close to him, it made it so much harder for him to stand up for himself.


This book is now one of my favourites and my school has just started a reading group before school, I have put this book on the list for the book club because I think this story Important and I think other kids my age would learn something from it.


I learnt to think more how my friends take what people say and I learnt to maybe look after my brother even more.


Mini Twist Age 10




Author Bio



Rex is a former book editor who now lives in Los Angeles with his partner. He enjoys hiking with friends and his dog, devouring books, and cooking.


Free Lunch is unsparing and harshly realistic. It is also frequently funny, and threaded with hope and moments of grace.


Free Lunch is a welcome addition to the growing cannon of youth memoirs, and Rex’s powerful, lyrical storytelling shines a light on those living in the shadows.


FACTS ABOUT CHILDHOOD HUNGER:

· 12 million children in the United States live in food “insecure homes”

· 1 in 6 children in the United States lives with hunger

· Children who come from food insecure homes often experiences learning disabilities and other cognitive impairments

· Children who suffer from hunger often face emotional and social road blocks




Purchase Links






Blog Tour










Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

508 views0 comments
bottom of page