top of page

More Than A Game - Ralph Robb

Blog Tour Stop for this gritty look at 80's Britain



"A Story About Football And Other Stuff..."

Synopsis

Sabina Park Rangers is the first team of black players to reach the final of the Watney’s Challenge Cup.


But coach Horace McIntosh has more selection problems than most.


The First Division champions want to sign one of his best players – and right up until the day of the match he is uncertain that he will have a team for the biggest game in the club’s history because of arrests, a scam and an atmosphere of impending violence.



My Review


You can probably guess that this is not my usual genre and you would be right, when I saw this blog tour posted I just knew it would be something my husband would enjoy reading.


While he is not as huge a reader as myself and my boys are, who are known on this blog for there Mini Twist Reviews!


There is nothing in sport, history and transport especially aviation that this fella does not enjoy, so now I hand this review over too Mr Twist :)


Mr Twist and my Boys the Mini Twist's this blog is becoming a real family affair!



 

My wife is rarely wrong ( just don't tell her that!) and when she suggested i might like to read More Than A Game, I thought right away that a football based read was right up my street.


And it was, but this book is about so much more than that.


It is a wonderful account of life in the early 80’s, Thatchers Britain loud and raw again, showing all the unsettled politics and the turbulent times of the age and a fascinating look in to the West Indian-British community within the UK with Horace and his family showing us all the tensions and racism faced at that time.


This book was interesting as its had a feeling of history and true life rather than fiction which I think sings the praises of the author as his characters felt so very real.


All of this mixed with crime, friendship and at it heart the sense of community to make a very enjoyable read even with the rawness and disgust I felt at the racism.


I found this book felt well paced I was surprised how quickly the time flew by. I really enjoyed the authors writing and I would read further works of his in the future.




Author Bio


Ralph Robb was born and raised in the industrial town of Wolverhampton, England, and now lives in Ontario, Canada with his wife, two cats and a dog. A proud father of four, Robb works as an engineering technician and loves rugby, martial arts and of course a good book. His world is balanced by his obsession with comic books, quality TV, global events and the great outdoors.





Social media links



Twitter: @RalphSRobb


Blog Tour






Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

22 views0 comments
bottom of page