top of page

Stick a Flag in It: 1,000 Years of Bizarre History From Britain and Beyond - Arran Lomas

Blog Tour stop for this Hilarious and Fact filled tour through history

#BlogTour #ArranLomas #StickAFlagInIt @RandomTTours @unbounders





"Forget what you were taught in school – this is history like you’ve never heard it before, full of captivating historical quirks that will make you laugh out loud and scratch your head in disbelief "

Synopsis


The British people have always been eccentric, occasionally ingenious and, sure, sometimes unhinged – from mad monarchs to mass-murdering lepers.


Here, Arran Lomas shows us how they harnessed those traits to forge the British nation, and indeed the world, we know today. Follow history’s greatest adventurers from the swashbuckling waters of the Caribbean to the vast white wasteland of the Antarctic wilderness.


Learn about the British spy who infiltrated a top-secret Indian brothel, and the priest who hid inside a wall but forgot to bring a packed lunch.


You’ll discover Henry VIII’s favourite arse-wipe, whether the flying alchemist ever made it from Scotland to France, and the connection between Victorian coffee houses and dildos.



My Review


When the opportunity to be part of this tour came around, I will be honest and say this is not my usual type of read, but I knew a man that would love it! Mr Twist my long suffering husband, this is his kind of read, every year around this time I hunt for interesting, wacky and unique books that would make a perfect gift for Christmas for my not so fiction loving hubby!


This read ticked all the boxes and he was more than a few chapters in by the evening after it arrived. for a week I have put up with chuckles, laugh out louds moment and a lot of "here love listen to this.." (Yorkshire fella is Mr Twist!)


This read has brought about much hilarity as well as a number of interesting facts, for me this is the perfect read for those who like books that are a bit different!


but now I hand over to Mr Twist to give you his review....


This was an absolutely fabulous read; could not put the book down, as the old saying goes never judge a book by its cover, could not be more apt in this instance, though after reading this book there is probably some archaic law against that anyway!


Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!!. How much more can I sing this books praises!


The author manages to mix fascinating facts with contemporary humour. Just my type of book you don't have to love history, you don't even have to have any idea about it instead the author takes you along a journey through time picking the best and most humours parts along the way.


Its true I did end up reading most of it aloud to my wife, the surprising dirty and gross facts that you just cannot believe are true are ones you just need to share! and has provided much discussion and laugher from friends and family alike via whatsapp!


If only they taught history like this in school! I might have enjoyed the subject! and to think I wouldn't have read this if it hadn't been for Mrs Twist she gets it right sometimes! So if like her your looking for that perfect gift or your just wanting to enjoy reading something a little different, I would highly recommend this read, 5 Stars from me!




Author Bio


Arran Lomas is the man behind the hit YouTube channel Thoughty2.


Since 2012 he has created videos on every topic from space, crime and medicine to conspiracy theories, food and social issues – and, of course, history.


He was raised in Lancashire – the birthplace of the Industrial Revolution – and has always been captivated by the world around him, driving him to uncover its history and secrets.


Purchase Links



Blog Tour


Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

65 views0 comments
bottom of page