top of page

The Love Detective:Next Level - Angela Dyson

Blog tour as Angela Dyson returns with another hilarious, heart-warming and hi-jinks-packed mystery

#The LoveDetective @AngelaDysonAuth @matadoorbooks @annecater #RandomThingsTours





" On the heels of her successful debut, The Love Detective comes more misadventures and murder with Clarry Pennhaligan and her creator, author Angela Dyson."

Synopsis


Note to self: Do not screw this up. When Clarry Pennhaligan, rookie private detective and unlikely heroine, takes on her second case, she is determined to master the art of smart.


All she has been asked to do is to infiltrate a group of women who share a rather unusual way of spending their spare time. Shouldn’t be too demanding, she thinks, nothing to it. But, after her first clumsy steps reveal secrets that may best be kept hidden, her investigation gains momentum and events take a bizarre and sinister turn.


Out of her depth and working above her paygrade, Clarry soon faces a very real danger.


Things just got Next Level.





My Review


The Love Detective Next Level is the first book I have read by Angela Dyson and this will not be my last!.


While you can read this easily as a standalone as i did, i fell in love with the humour, writing style and the characters so much that I am already now reading the first of the series!


Clarry Pennhaligan is a waitress and budding amateur detective.


when a friend of a friend need help, Clarry's lack of money at the time means she jumps at the chance of a paying case.


The case been a mother who wants to know why her daughter is being so secretive? andfor Carry what starts off been a simple case builds in to something so much more! mystery, danger and strange sinister events has Clarry's taken on to much? and at what cost?


This read while you think might be an quite simple mystery is actually full of twist and turns and for me became a real gripping read!


I loved the characters they all felt so real, Clarry's while she come across as mature for her age, has a real sense of adventure and while she can be impulsive and a little reckless she has a heart of gold and Flan, wow Flan i just loved her! probably my favourite character in the many books I have read over the past year, she just has such a fabulous persona, a real no no nonsense attitude yet the warmth and affection she shows in her friendship with Clarry's despite the age gap just made me want a fabulous lady like Flan in my life too!

I devoured this book it had everything, crime, humour fun and Flan! and as I say I am already deep into the first book in the series and I cannot wait for more!




Author Bio



“The role of amateur detective has always appealed to me,” Angela Dyson explains.


“The artless inexperienced meddler asking questions, stirring things up and getting in to a whole heap of trouble. But I’d never be brave enough to do it myself.”


Apart from the twists and turns of her crime caper, Angela has made sure to include some important messages to young and old.


As she explains, “Twenty-six year old, Clarry Pennhaligan, is a modern heroine. She’s a generously proportioned size 14. She’s Body Positive and reflects the New Activism: Accept yourself ...just as you are. Accept others.....just as they are.” And then there’s her side-kick, the glamorous septuagenarian Flan. “I love Flan! She’s gloriously outspoken, and with a huge appetite for life.


The inter-generational aspect of the novel sends a powerful message: We can do anything we want, no matter what our age.”




Purchase Links







Blog Tour






Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page