top of page

The Silent Unwinding - Jackie Morris

Blog Tour stop for this highly illustrated pillow book to prompt dreaming and creativity

#BlogTour #TheUnwinding @JackieMorrisArt @unbounders @RandomTTours






"A book for dreamers. Slight of word, rich of image, its purpose is to ease the soul. "

Synopsis


This book is not meant to be read from cover to cover. It is a book for dreamers. Slight of word, rich of image, its purpose is to ease the soul.


The paintings between these covers were worked in the between times, an unwinding of the soul, when the pressures of work were too much.


Dreams and wishes are the inspiration at times like this. Threaded through the curious world of The Unwinding are words, slight and lyrical.


Their aim is to set the reader’s mind adrift from the troubles of our times, into peaceful harbours where imagination can stretch, where quiet reflection can bring peace.


The Unwinding is designed to be a companion, a talisman to be turned to again and again and a place of respite from an increasingly frantic and complex world.



My Review


Without a doubt this is one of the most beautiful books I have every owned, small in size yet thick, its pages offer a plethora of imaginative and beautiful worlds brought to life by the artist.


This is a book like no other, as a person who has problem sleeping i found this a joy to have on my bedside table.


while going against my book worm instincts I spent my time with the read dipping in and out of the pages enjoying the worlds, yet losing myself in the beauty and creativity of the images and artworks.


Each "chapter" is a story in itself from dusky lights, warm lands from the earth to the sea we are driven with calm and comforting word along on a journey through the pages of this book through the artworks which leave you wondering what next?


I see the sense of dreaminess with this book, it sets your brain off in to these lands and almost leaves you thinking and finishing the story yourself.


This is the perfect treat for yourself or gift for a loved one, this book now has a permanent home at my bedside it has helped me to calm my brain after long days and helped me drift back to sleep when I have woken again for no reason instead of struggling in the dark I have spent time in this authors and artist dream world and loved it so much.



Author Bio



Jackie Morris is an author and illustrator. She studied illustration at Hereford College of Art and Bath Academy and has illustrated many books, and written some.


The Lost Words, co-authored with Robert Macfarlane, won the Kate Greenaway Medal 2019.


@JackieMorrisArt




Purchase Links




Blog Tour




Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page