top of page

The Twyford Code - JANICE HALLETT

Complex, Twisty and Delightfully Tense! Absolutely obsessed!

#BlogTour #TheTwyfordCode @JanieHallett @ViperBooks @RandomTTours






"It's time to solve the murder of the century..."


Synopsis


It's time to solve the murder of the century...


Forty years ago, Steven Smith found a copy of a children's book by disgraced author

Edith Twyford, full of strange markings and annotations. He took it to his English

teacher Miss Iles, who became convinced that the book was the key to solving a secret

code running through all Twyford's novels. But then she disappeared.


Now, out of prison after a long stretch, Steven decides to investigate the mystery that has haunted

him for decades. Was Miss Iles murdered? Was she deluded? Or was she right about

the code? And if it is as valuable as Miss Iles thought, who else might be trying to solve

it?



My Review


I read this authors first novel 'The Appeal' in early 2021 and I was addicted so much so that every year at Christmas my family do the Jolabokaflod, which is the Icelandic tradition of giving and receiving book on Christmas eve! and last year this book 'The Appeal' I picked for my gift to everyone! (what a group chat THAT turned in to!)


So I could not wait to get stuck in to this read and my family could not wait to find out if it was as good as the first that they are all loving too!


We dive head first into this tale in the form of transcribed audio recordings Forty years ago, the speaker Steven Smith had found a copy of a banned book, taking it to school as Steven cannot read well he is unware of what the book is yet his Remedial English teacher, Miss Isles knows and going against everything shares the story with the class.


But Miss Isles thinks the book contains the clue to a secret code supposedly hidden by the author in her stories and as this simple book starts a chain of events that spirals out of control and as the class take a day trip to the authors seaside town home Miss Isles Disappears.


This time this event has stuck with Steven through all his good and bad times its almost haunted him as he cannot fully remember that day so following his release from a prison he is determined to discover the truth of that day no matter what the cost.


I am OBSESSED, this read grabbed me and left me reeling I am obsessed with this authors writing style You truly feel a part of the mystery and investigation, I loved Edith Twyford and her Super Six books quite obviously inspired by Enid Blyton but took me back to some simple childhood reading and the books I loved!


This read was complex, twisty and delightfully tense! and that ending!! wow! I almost feel like I need to read it all again to see everything from new angles! This read has fully cemented me as a fan and I cannot wait for more!


Worth a fully glowing and shining 5 starts and then some!!


Author Bio



Janice Hallett studied English at UCL, and spent several years as a magazine editor, winning two awards for journalism.


Her debut novel, The Appeal, was a Sunday Times bestseller, a Waterstones Thriller of the Month and Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month. She lives in West London









Blog Tour




Thank you to the Publisher and Author for sending me an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this novel and for the opportunity to review these works.

All reviews are my own unbiased opinion.

42 views0 comments
bottom of page